dinner diary – mustard glazed salmon with witlof & grapefruit stack

Woolies is secretly sabotaging me. I spend a considerable amount of the afternoon ummm and ahh-ing over what to cook for dinner and when I’ve finally decided what I want to cook for dinner…WHAM…it disappears from my local supermarket’s inventory. It’s like I’m in a neverending episode of Ready Steady Cook… I never know what I’m going to have to fashion my dinner out of.

Take tonight, I wanted salmon so I decided that a nice little shaved fennel salad would suit. Alas, to no surprise, no fennels in sight. I sent S on a search and retrieve mission but he stared at me blankly and asked me what a fennel was. Nevermind….

Luckily I spotted some witlof so here is a recap of tonights dinner. The salmon itself was adapted from a recipe at Epicurious.com. The witlof salad was my own haphazard creation.

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • 2 x pieces of skinless salmon
  • 2 T butter
  • 1t Lemon Pepper seasoning
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 heaped tablespoons spicy mustard (you can use mild if you are heat-intolerant)
  • 4 pieces proscuitto
  • 2 x witlofs
  • 1/2 a ruby red grapegruit
  • Mount of Olives Vanilla Infused Olive Oil (sold at Providore in Margaret River)
  • Lemon Juice
  • Continental Parsley

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees (fanforced)
  2. Heat the butter, wine and lemon pepper in a saucepan, bringing to a boil and letting bubble away for 3 minutes.
  3. Season the salmon pieces and put in a small baking tray.
  4. Pour the butter and wine mixture over the salmon pieces and bake for approximate 12 minutes (depending on the size of your salmon pieces).
  5. At this stage you can either put the prosciutto slices in with the salmon (on a separate part of the tray of course) to crisp up or do this in a frying pan.
  6. In the meantime, prepare the witlof and grapefruit salad by separating the leaves, peeling out the grapefruit segments and tossing with chopped parsley.
  7. Mix the mustard and brown sugar together so that it forms a paste.
  8. Once the salmon has been in for about 12 minutes and is just about done, remove from the oven and spread the paste on top.
  9. Preheat the grill and place the salmon back in the oven, letting them grill for about 3 minutes or until the top starts to bubble.
  10. Prepare the Lemon Vanilla Vinaigrette by mixing the olive oil and lemon juice in a 1:3 ratio. Season and dress the salad.
  11. Arrange the salad on the plate, place the salmon on and top with the crispy proscuitto.

Dinner is served!

S commented that the tangy mustard suited the refreshing witlof perfectly.

What are your favourite ways of cooking salmon?

Comments
2 Responses to “dinner diary – mustard glazed salmon with witlof & grapefruit stack”
  1. Good on you for improvising! Sometimes so necessary and can often taste just as good or better than the original! 😀

Leave a comment