easter feasting – sticky orange ginger & almond cake, jamie oliver’s bubble & squeak

There’s something to be said for a good bout of baking. S and I were scheduled for Easter Monday lunch at his Aunty’s this past Monday (funny that) and I thought it was a good excuse as any to whip up some baked delights (or in this case “delight”).

Now I am a chronic sufferer of Mondayitis..I will kick, scream and generally mooch about the place until..well…Tuesday. Apparently though, waking up baking is a remarkable cure. That or the prospect of not having to do anything.

With S off training for a half marathon (I don’t run unless I’m getting chased…it’s a life motto that is in constant conflict with my love of food)…I decided to busy myself in the kitchen with Donna Hay’s Sticky Orange Upside Down Cake

Unable to resist adding in some party guests of my own, I ended up with this…

Note: Donna’s recipe makes the entire thing in a 20cm non-stick ovenproof frying pan but I didn’t have one on hand so this was just made in your stock standard silicone cake mould.

Lori’s Sticky Orange Ginger & Almond Cake

Based on a true story – see above

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 cup SR flour
  • 150g butter (melted)
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 3/4 cup candied ginger (finely chopped, you can vary amount to your tastes)

Topping

  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sweet liqueur (I used coconut liqueur as that was my only choice…)
  • 1 vanilla bean, split
  • 2 oranges, thinly sliced
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees
  2. Put the topping ingredients minus the orange in a pot and stir over medium heat until the sugar has dissolved (I scraped the seeds from the vanilla pod and put them in the mixture along with the pods themselves).
  3. Once the sugar has dissolved, add the oranges and simmer for 15 minutes. Once this is done, you can remove from heat and set aside.
  4. Place the eggs, sugar and vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl.
  5. Whisk with an electric mixer for approximately 10 minutes (the mixture should have gained in volume and paled in colour)
  6. Sift the flour over the mixture and fold in.
  7. Fold through the butter, almond meal and candied giner.
  8. Pour the orange syrup into the bottom of your cake mould, taking care to arrange the slices so they sit nicely (this will be the top!).
  9. Pour over the cake mixture and bake for approximately 45 to 50 minutes.
  10. Turn over and lo and behold!
  11. Serve with freshly whipped cream.

Would love to try this recipe with blood oranges next time, would look quite sexy I would imagine!

If only this could happen every Monday morning…sigh…..

Jamie Oliver’s Bubble & Squeak

S & I, inspired after watching midday TV – decided to recreate Jamie Oliver’s Bubble & Squeak for Easter Sunday lunch. JO’s recipe has a bit of a twist on the traditional B&S in that the sausages are squeezed out to form one long tube then rolled boerewors style and baked over some onions. The onions are later used to create the most fabulous balsamic onion gravy (easy too). Pukka tukka indeed…..

Recipe can be found here

(Below) Some snaps from the construction stage….

(Below) Sausage “roll” straight out of the oven (remember to remove the skewers before serving! Unless of course you are in the midst of a dinner assassination plot, in which case by all means go ahead…)

Note: My only variation is to the type of vegetables used. I went for a mix of canned water chestnuts (couldn’t find actual chesnuts), potatoes, cabbage, pumpkins, brussel sprouts, parsnip, swede and onion (I had leek too but I forgot to take it out of the fridge…sigh, memory like a sieve).

I can’t recommend this recipe enough! Of course, the dish will be made all the better if you can source quality sausages from a butcher. I used a mix of two different sausages from The Meat Safe in Subiaco:

  • Irish Pork & Apple
  • Red wine, Rosemary & Garlic

The rosemary sausages were sensational coupled with the fresh rosemary.

The brilliant photos of the Bubble & Squeak above are courtesy of S’s brother, T, and his super duper non-dicky camera. I’m sure photographic skill comes into play as well….

[start rant] No doubt you would have  heard by now what Mr Oliver is doing in the US. I’ve been following the comments and progress of his show online and it honestly sickens me to my core what passes as acceptable food in those school canteens. We have it lucky in Australia that there is some regulation in our school system (at least there are no breakfast pizzas or chips counting as vegetables). If you feel strongly about this too you should sign his petition here. Everyone should have the right to fresh wholesome food…especially children. It’s abuse otherwise….[/end rant]

Comments
5 Responses to “easter feasting – sticky orange ginger & almond cake, jamie oliver’s bubble & squeak”
  1. Pukka tukka indeed! The sausage swirl duo combo does look mighty fine and now I’m hungry again … *sigh*

  2. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  3. Ooh, fancy pants snags with your bubble & squeak!

    I was in the frozen veges section of IGA when in Gero over Easter, and had an annoyed woman ask me if I knew where the frozen bubble & squeak was. I was thinking to myself “who buys frozen bubble and squeak?” and then a minute or two later a flustered man asked me if I’d seen where the frozen onions were. I didn’t even know you could buy frozen onions. I must look like I know a lot about frozen vegetables.

    • Nothing like dem fancy snaggers…

      I was entirely unaware that those items were available in frozen form! Thanks for enlightening me Master ‘o the Frozen Vege Aisle.

      Can’t say I’m surprised though. When I lived in the UK there was this horrendous ‘supermarket’ called Ice Land that sold every conceivable type of food product in (you guessed it) frozen form… The “ingenuity” behind this baffles me…you could go from freezer aisle to microwave in 0 to 6 seconds and wind up with a 7 course Roast Dinner. What an age we live in…

Leave a Reply

