udon w shimeji mushrooms & panfried dumplings in XO sauce, choco nut fondant w raspberry coulis

I’m not one of those people that was born a foodie. I hated garlic, chilli, onions and vegetables of all descriptions. When I was about 4 years old,  I apparently tried to sneak out to the garden during dinner to throw away my vegie ration thinking that as it was the same colour, it would blend in with the grass and noone would be any the wiser. As you can imagine, that plan didn’t go down too well (poor mother had to wake up to a bok choy strewn lawn).

Another thing I didn’t like was chocolate…actually not only chocolate, I disliked anything sweet….until I met S. He is, undoubtedly, the biggest sweet tooth I’ve ever crossed paths with. Let’s just say if chocolate was alcohol he would have to be on  the 12 step plan. He is so bad he once ate the Easter chocolates he bought me, about 2 hours after I was presented with them. I also have to hide my cooking chocolate in nondescript brown paper bags. Needless to say my aversion to all things sweet dissipated shortly after we got together. It started with a little nibble of his dessert over dinner…the rest, they say, is history . As for my former archenemies, chilli & garlic…we are now inseparable.

So, in the mood to cook  up a 2 course dinner tonight, I threw together some pantry staples and ended up with the following 2 course meal:

Udon with shimeji mushrooms & panfried dumplings in XO Sauce (pictured above)

Ingredients

  • 1 x packet of udon
  • 10 dumplings (I cheated and used the frozen variety: Peking Pork & Cabbage)
  • 1 x handful of fresh shimeji mushrooms
  • 2 T XO sauce
  • 2t soy sauce
  • shaosing wine
  • garlic
  • ginger
  • small bundle of kailan
  • pork floss
  • black sesame seeds
  • sesame oil
  1. Cook udon as per instructions. Drain, drizzle over some sesame oil and set aside.
  2. Heat up some oil in a pan, fry dumplings for about 5 minutes, pour in a little shaosing and cover.
  3. Leave dumplings to steam in shaosing until all liquid evaporates.
  4. In another pan, fry garlic and ginger until fragrant.
  5. Add mushrooms and fry until tender.
  6. Add XO sauce to the pan and stirfry.
  7. Add in noodles, soy sauce, 1T shaosing and kailan.
  8. Fry until nice and golden.
  9. Top with dumplings, black sesame seeds and pork floss.

Choco Nut Fondant w Raspberry Coulis, Vanilla Ice Cream & Toffee Shard (for lovers of Ferrerro Rochers)


Ingredients

For Fondant:

  • 1/4 cup cooking chocolate
  • 2 T butter
  • 2 T chunky peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar

For Raspberry Coulis

  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1 T lime
  • 3T sugar
  • Good splash of Cointreau

For Toffee Shard

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup water
  1. Melt butter, peanut butter and chocolate in a bowl over simmering water.
  2. Set aside for 10 minutes.
  3. Beat eggs with sugar until pale and thick.
  4. Mix in chocolate mixture and sift flour in.
  5. Fold mixture, pour into ramekins dusted with cocoa powder and refrigerate for 2 hours.
  6. In the meantime make raspberry coulis by cooking ingredients for approximately 5 minutes.
  7. Remove off heat, sieve and discard seeds.
  8. Return to flame and mix in a little cornflour with water to thicken.
  9. For the toffee shard, dissolve sugar in water and reduce until a light caramel colour.
  10. Drizzle on to baking paper and chill to harden.
  11. When ready, cook fondants in 160c oven for 14 minutes.
  12. Serve with icecream, coulis and toffee shard.

S ate his serve and half of mine….sigh….

Comments
3 Responses to “udon w shimeji mushrooms & panfried dumplings in XO sauce, choco nut fondant w raspberry coulis”
  1. Yes, you’re definitely adopting me. I’ll even clean the bok choy from your lawn should you have a relapse. Erm, right after hiding my chocolate.

  2. HAHA. I like your bok choy story. And chocolate? I’m glad that your opinion of it may have changed–I have a friend who barfs if he eats chocolate. I tried to feed him some carob in hopes that he would like it in place of chocolate, but he steadfast refused. Sadness.

    I like you udon ;]

  3. Conor – Done! Although now that you are in possession of those much sought after Largesse tickets…I may have to reconsider 😛

    Ps. I no longer have a lawn (funny that)

    Fatty Dumpling – Thanks for stopping by! Lucky my aversion to chocolate stopped just before barfing. Poor lad, he is missing out on such goodness. On the bright side, more for you!

Leave a Reply

