I’m Ba-ck

Forgive me Father for I have sinned. It’s been 14 weeks and 6 days since my last blogfession.

But I’m back…and boy do I have some stories for you. It’s been a whirlwind haze of travel and food these past few months.

From consuming my body weight in carbs in Italy to picking fresh mint from a Berber village garden in Morocco…I’ve eaten, prayed (to still fit into my clothes) and loved (did I mention there was a certain Mr S spotted on bended knee in front of Le Tour d’Eiffel on Bastille Day?)

I’ve also perched on a Balinese clifftop for a wedding (not mine), sauntered around the Sydney Harbour Bridge for my birthday and *cough* may have met the great man Tetsuya himself.

So you forgive my extended leave of absence do you not?

Of course it wasn’t all sunshine and roses….I got ravaged by voracious Italian bed bugs, contracted food poisoning twice, encountered a very nasty surprise on the back doorstep of our hotel in Girona (post the dining magnifence that was El Celler de Can Roca) and had to cut our suitcase in half to comply with Ryanair’s luggage ‘regulations’ (*insert stream of expletives*).  Oh, and there was a rather heinous battle with a bout of swine flu that threatened to take me out for awhile…

Fear not though, I have come out victorious and shall share the splendours of my travels in the upcoming weeks.

Hang tight cowboys. Big Mama’s back in town (no really, I’ve taken to wearing elasticized pants).

Comments
7 Responses to “I’m Ba-ck”
  1. Welcome back! And this is a chic new background we having going here =D Can’t wait to read more about your adventures.

  2. HOORAY!!! Again I declare that I’m very glad that old swiney did not take you to a better place, where no elastic pants are necessary 🙂

  3. Glad to have you back Lori! I’ve been missing your witty posts and tweets. Definitely looking forward to hearing more about your adventures.

  4. Devan says:

    Hey hey Lori, welcome back! Can’t wait to hear about all your stories 🙂

  5. Monica says:

    Yay! Great to hear that you’re back 🙂 You met Tetsuya? Looking forward to hearing about it all. Italian bed bugs worry me a little however… 🙂

  6. The Spud says:

    Hi,
    I was referred to your blog by one of your friends Kristi (as I’ve also started a food blog, but no where near as impressive as yours!) and just wanted to say I’m enjoying the reading, I look forward to more 🙂

Leave a comment